Essential Info for Malaysia

essential info for MalaysiaPopulation: About 31 million

Capital city: Kuala Lumpur (also largest city)
Other major cities: Seberang Perei, Kajang, Krang, George Town
Neighbouring countries: Thailand, Indonesia, Brunei, Singapore, Philippines and Vietnam
Geography: Malaysia has a diverse landscape of coastal plains and mountainous terrain. The two major regions of Malaysia, Peninsula Malaysia and Malaysian Borneo, are separated by the South China Sea. There are also a number of outlying islands forming part of Malaysian territory. Mount Kinabalu, on the island of Borneo, is the highest mountain in Malaysia. The country’s diverse mountains and rain forests are home to some of the most unique creatures on Earth.
Political system: A federal parliamentary democracy under an elective constitutional monarch
Major religions: The majority of the population is Muslim. Buddhism and Christianity are the other main religions.
Main languages: Bahasa Malaysia is the official language, while English is widely spoken in business. The Chinese population in Malaysia speak Cantonese, Hokkien or Hakka, and the Indian population in Malaysia speak Tamil, Hindi or Malayalam.

Money: The Malaysian Ringgit (MYR), divided into 100 sen.
Time: GMT+8
Electricity: 240 volts, 50Hz. Malaysia uses three-pin, UK-style plugs.
Internet domain: .my
International dialling code: +60. City codes include (0)3 for Kuala Lumpur and (0)4 for Penang.
Emergency contacts: Dial 999 for a police ambulance emergency while you can dial 994 for fire emergencies.
Transport and driving: Cars drive on the left side of the road. The country has an extensive public transport system consisting of trains, buses and ferries. Kuala Lumpur also has a monorail system.

Login with your Facebook account (Recommended)